Search for:
  • Home/
  • India/
  • Nitish Kumar elected JD(U) president, Lalan Singh steps down | India News – Times of India

Nitish Kumar elected JD(U) president, Lalan Singh steps down | India News – Times of India


NEW DELHI: Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar has taken over the reins of his party Janata Dal (United) ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. At the national executive of the party on Friday, Nitish Kumar was elected president after the incumbent chief Rajiv Ranjan (Lalan) Singh stepped down. The national council meeting of the party, scheduled to be held later in the day, is likely to ratify decisions taken in the executive meeting.
Sources said most key leaders within the party were of the view that Nitish Kumar being the party’s most prominent face should take charge of the organisation at this crucial time.According to Bihar minister Vijay Kumar Choudhary, Lalan Singh had expressed desire to step down as party chief as he would be busy with contesting elections.

Nitish Kumar is the leader of JD(U), will always be: Lalan Singh

The Bihar minister, however, denied rumors about any political realignment in Bihar. Nitish Kumar has switched sides several times in the last two decades staying as chief minister both with the help of the BJP and also the Mahagathbandhan of RJD and the Congress.
The development within the JD(U) comes amid reports of differences between the top leadership . News agency PTI quoting sources said some leaders were unhappy with the leadership style of Lalan Singh and had discussed this with Nitish Kumar.
Nitish Kumar has played a key role in bringing together opposition parties on one platform against the BJP. He is one of the front runners to lead the coalition. With some parties of the INDIA bloc proposing the name of Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge to lead the anti-BJP bloc, the JD(U) leaders have raised the pitch for Nitish as PM face for the opposition alliance.
Watch Nitish Kumar takes over as JD(U) chief following Lalan Singh’s resignation


Leave A Comment

All fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required